South Island Towns

Welcome to our Small Town Travel Guide compiled by New Zealand’s Information Network to help you plan your visit to our beautiful land.

Akaroa, Alexandra, Arthur’s Pass, Ashburton, Blenheim, Cromwell, Glenorchy, Greymouth, Hanmer Springs, Haast, Kaiteriteri, Karamea, Manapouri, Milford Sound, Moeraki, Motueka, Oamaru, Picton, Punakaiki, Te Anau, Timaru, Twizel and Westport.


By |2014-09-09T00:01:00+12:00September 9th, 2014|Categories: South Island Towns|

Canterbury’s second largest city is surrounded by gently sloping hills, which enfold the beautiful crescent of Caroline Bay. Timaru lies halfway between Christchurch and Dunedin, marking the southern limit of the broad gravel plains that produce the bulk of New Zealand’s cereal and grain crops.


By |2014-09-08T05:33:49+12:00September 8th, 2014|Categories: South Island Towns|

Driving towards the southern end of the South Island’s West Coast Road, there is a strong sense of entering a primeval land, and a feeling of total isolation. Arriving at Haast, you are surrounded by a landscape of rainforest, wetlands, sand dunes and surf-pounded shingle beaches.

Load More Posts
Go to Top